We are now open to the general public and have resumed our normal hours of 8 am to 4:30 pm, we take rotating lunches so that we can help you during lunch hours. We strongly encourage everyone that has transactions that can be handled through the mail to do so! This will really help to keep the Motor Vehicle office and hallway compliant with social distancing and will help to keep employees & patrons healthy, safe & feeling secure in their surroundings! Thank you! ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Applications for a title must originate in the office of the local Motor Vehicle office. The local office is determined by where the vehicle is garaged. Military or full-time college students may register at their local residence or their stationed address.
A vehicle must be registered within 60 days from date of purchase or a penalty will be charged.
Properly assigned Statement of Origin (notarization is no longer required in Kansas)
Kansas sales tax receipt is required when purchased from a Kansas dealer and an invoice when purchased from an out-of-state dealer
Proof of current insurance for each vehicle
Transfer of Death (TOD) party's name and address if desired on title
The State of Kansas now holds, in electronic format, any title that has a lien attached until the lien is paid off.
Transfer of License Plates
The new vehicle must be registered in the same name as the old vehicle. Names allowed to be added are: parent, spouse or child. Any other name being added requires the purchase of new plates; old plates may be surrendered to the local County Treasurer for a refund. A refund is determined by the remaining full months of registration and property tax, and totaling $5 or more. Should you have questions concerning a refund, call you local County Treasurer. For inquiries with the Motor Vehicle Department call 785-229-3455.